How I started

Have you ever wondered what’s all the fuss about recycling and going green?What’s behind this new trend and why are we going as natural as possible.

Childhood memories

Besides my small existence of twenty-six years of life I had the

12295058_10153831420941037_1185483263_o
View from our front balcony in Paea, Tahiti, 1998.

chance to travel and live in different countries such as France, Germany, England, Tunisia, Tahiti and the USA where I experienced many cultural differences and environments/ecosystems. In many of these countries I saw the impact of industrialism. When I lived in Tahiti, French Polynesia, I witness the most breath taking lagoons I have ever seen with such a rich marine life. Sometimes we used to take the ferry boat that would take us to Morea it’s neighboring island and when getting away from the coast I remember seeing the ferry boat pushing pools of trash near the harbor, a lot of them were plastic bottles floating. I even remember the nasty  smell from it, and all I can say is now thinking back it is very disturbing and sad to see how much we are hurting this

12241339_10153833793346037_9072760588140124251_n
My sisters and I (at the far right) in Tahiti.

planet such as the beautiful lagoon of Tahiti.

My first experience with the country I settled in, the USA was like it was yesterday. It was in July in 1998, I was nine years old at the time. We stayed in California in a small town near Los Angeles at a hotel for about three weeks, where there was a popcorn machine and a fountain drink station in the lobby available to clients 24/7. The hotel offered BBQ cookout every afternoons with hot dogs and burgers, and we could go to the pool as much as we wanted to. My father was driving a rental car (SUV) that was about three time the size of our little French car, in which we would be completely squished together. Maybe not that bad but you get the idea! The point is everything seemed bigger and unreal compare to the standards my family and I were used to. I remembered when coming back home in France, I would tell my grandpa all about this experience and how awesome it was. Oh, I almost forgot to mention about the glorious 10 pounds I gained in these past three weeks! America!

Later on we ended up visiting the US another time in 2001, it was right before 9/11, we visited most of the west, the landscapes were breathtaking, it was like stepping into a movie. Every places we visited was a great experience, people were so nice and there was so much food in our plates we couldn’t complain! I didn’t came back until 2007 when my father got a two-year position at the National Laboratory in Los Alamos, New Mexico where I ended up staying in this city for seven years.

Conclusion 

Living in the US in contrast to visiting gave me a very different point of view to my original thoughts, and made me realize that certain lifestyles and habits contributed to many social and environmental issues. For example, eating out often and or consuming  what we now call junk food contributed to a major national problem that is obesity, and also other health related diseases like diabetes that would in result bring up the rate of healthcare costs, and that simple things as the intention of driving a large car or a pickup truck brought larger pollution and consumption unnecessarily. We could imagine that with the high amount of information available to the public in developed countries such as America, the global warming issues would be taken very seriously and raised major regulation imposed on our population in the way one consume.

Global Warming

So what exactly is global warming and why should we care? Global warming is a natural process of earth warming up. The issue that we are facing is that due to quick industrialization from human activity. It  accelerated this process and the causes could be detrimental to many ecosystems including to our own kind, humans. I really enjoyed the explanation of global warming from the NASA video bellow, it gives a clear explanation with animated images of the changes that our planet has been  and is going to face.

 

 

Global warming is already happening

According to David Biello, an award winning journalist covering environmental issues for the Scientific American magazine explained in one of his article, that “[i]n fact, human society added half of the global warming pollution that is in the atmosphere in just the last 40 years.” According to him the main issue comes from the source of the energy supply and that besides resent inversion of clean energies such as wind or solar for example the pollution is still on the rise.

As the above NASA video explains that the rate of global warming  and the way the planet is going to respond is not completely known, mostly because we control about half of it. The future to our children, great grand children and so on depends on us. And it all start with admitting to our-self that we must change, we must adapt and by this, we must look into the deep core of our living lifestyles. The image right below shows great examples of our ultimate goals to change. Of course not all of them can be applied, at least not at once. But it is the effort of reducing and admitting that we all must feel individually concern and ignore that our neighbor is consuming five times more than we are.

complexsystem
Global Warming Mind map, can be visualized in different languages.

BE STRONG

This image represent most of our problematic lifestyles that are accelerating global warming. One of the images that captures my eyes the most is “BE STRONG”. No matter what choice do we make in life we must be strong and stick to it in order to make it work.

As well as I will be talking about some of them throughout my blog and explain why are these so important are so important towards reducing global warming.

Leave a Reply

